People in the Irwin Lab

Principal Investigator

Darren Irwin (email)

Graduate Students

Silu Wang (PhD student)

Libby Natola (PhD student)

Kenny Askelson (PhD student, after completing his MSc here; email)

Saminda Fernando (email; PhD student at Univ. of Colombo; co-advised by Sampath Seneviratne and Darren Irwin)

Maddie Ore (MSc student; defended spring 2019 and now in PhD program at Cornell; email)

Ellen Nikelski (MSc student)

Rashika Ranasinghe (MSc student)

Postdoctoral Fellows

Dr. Armando Geraldes (email)

Undergraduate Researchers

Finola Fogarty (NSERC USRA, 2019)

Quinn McCallum (NSERC USRA, 2019)

Jamie Clarke (NSERC USRA, 2019)

Annegret Liederbach (Honours project, 2016-2018; now MSc student at Kyoto University)

Else Mikkelsen (research assistant, NSERC USRA, and Honours Project, 2016-2018; now PhD student at University of Toronto Scarborough)

Jacqueline Mackenzie (research assistant and Hesse undergraduate researcher, 2017)

Lab Alumni 

Postdoc alumni:

Dr. Miguel Alcaide (email; postdoctoral researcher, 2011-2014; now a Research Associate at Simon Fraser University)

Dr. Christine Grossen (postdoctoral researcher, 2013-2014; now a postdoc at University of Zurich)

Dr. Sampath Seneviratne (postdoctoral researcher, 2009-2012; now Senior Lecturer at Univ. of Colombo, Sri Lanka)

Dr. Alex Rubtsov (visiting postdoctoral researcher, 2005-2006; now a curator at the State Darwin Museum, Moscow)

PhD alumni:

Dr. Kira Delmore (PhD 2015; now Assistant Professor at Texas A&M University)  **Received Faculty of Science Graduate Prize for Best PhD Dissertation in UBC Science, and Milsom Prize for Best PhD Dissertation in UBC Zoology

Dr. David Toews (PhD, 2014; now Assistant Professor at Pennsylvania State University)

Dr. Julie Lee-Yaw (PhD, 2013; now Assistant Professor at the University of Lethbridge)

Dr. Alan Brelsford (PhD, 2010; now Assistant Professor at Univ. of California Riverside)

Dr. Andrew Rush (graduate student, 2005-2007; completed PhD program at UC Berkeley)

MSc alumni:

Kenny Askelson (MSc, 2018; now doing a PhD–see above)

Alison Porter (MSc, 2015; now in law school at University of Ottawa)

Cheng Chen (MSc, 2017; co-advised by Jedediah Brodie and Darren Irwin)

Haley Kenyon (MSc, 2013; now a Ph.D. student at Queen’s Univ.)

Katie Kuker (MSc, 2008; co-advised by Lance Barrett-Lennard; now a Senior Consultant at Environmental Resources Management)

Dr. David Toews (MSc, 2007; went on to do PhD–see above)

BSc alumni:

Stephanie Cavaghan

Michelle Chen (Honours project, 2012-2014)

Alana Demko

Julian Heavyside

Haley Kenyon (Honours project, 2009-2010; continued as MSc student–see above)

Kristen Haakans

Mehdi Khadraoui

Nina Lobo

Christie Macdonald

Matthew Osmond

Margarita Pacis

Thomas Pierce

Matt Robinson

Talia Sechley